Possible Widespread DNS Attack (info wanted)

Published: 2011-12-13
Last Updated: 2011-12-13 20:47:56 UTC
by Johannes Ullrich (Version: 1)
7 comment(s)

Thanks for the help with this! Turns out this had a not so malicious resolution for now: The IP address is used for numerous "spelling error" domains aka "typo squatting". The company/person behind this ip address is redirecting a large number of domains to the IP address which then displays a "yellow pages" look alike called "yellow book". Nothing malicious as far as I can tell for now, but some may not like this practice.


Alex wrote in a short time ago seeing "www.citrix.com" resolving to This IP address has been associated with malware in the past. Further investigation showed that literally hundreds of "brand name" sites point to this IP address (if you are using the "wrong" DNS server). For example, see the report from the BFK passive DNS caching tools:


Please let us know if you are seeing outbound traffic to this IP address or if you see DNS resolution requests that return this IP address. We are still investigating details.


Johannes B. Ullrich, Ph.D.
SANS Technology Institute

Keywords: dns
7 comment(s)
Diary Archives