Last Updated: 2011-01-10 17:41:27 UTC
by Manuel Humberto Santander Pelaez (Version: 1)
New year comes with more malware. This time facebook users can see inside their chat messages a link pointing to a picture. That link looks like an application link, but this time it doesn't ask for your permission to install and have access to your personal info. Instead, victim is showed a "View picture" button that tricks them to download the malware.
Social networks are very interesting and Social networks are a useful source of information and will remain as one of the innovations that will constantly change the way most human interact, but equally will remain as one of the most favorite sources for attackers to compromise the information of their victims. For this reason, it is extremely important that users of social networks only work with applications that are well known and not get carried away on scams like the recently one about Tupac Shakur.
More information at http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/01/10/facebook_worm_photo_chat_scam/