Threat Level: green Handler on Duty: Didier Stevens

SANS ISC: New Kid on the Block seeking advice - SANS Internet Storm Center SANS ISC InfoSec Forums

New Kid on the Block seeking advice
So, greetings and salutations all! I'm new to the infosec realm and returning to the IT world in general. When I graduated high school I had a job for an electrical company as an IT tech that grew till I quit do to some misinformation and misrepresentation of the industry along with having a dumb kid moment. Now a decade later I am returning to school. However to do so I have to make 2 decisions that will help sculpt the future; I have to get a decent level certification to start the wanted degree program and also decide once and for all if I really want to live in InfoSec or programming. Programming was my first love but InfoSec and Linux admin has become where my heart seems to lie in my later years. So I ask you all for advice into whether I would benefit most between the Comptia A+, Net+, Sec+, Linux+ certs, CCNA, CCNA Security certs are all included in the program and would help me get through easier and faster, however the GIAC certs will get me in as well. Second of all, I'm still a little back and forth between programming and InfoSec, So if anyone has any resource that would give me a "life in the day of" type experience that would be great. Everything I find as of current seems to be based around a game or individual tasks that don't really give a good idea of the security life.

Thank you in advance for all your help and advice,
jfischer.
Jfischer

2 Posts
As a first advice, I'd recommend to ask yourself in which security field you are feeling confident. Infosec has many branches and jobs are completely different... Are you most focussing on offensive or defensive security? A technical job (with hands on) or more theoretical?